Oregon DUI Accident Lawyer
The crime of drunk driving is actually referred to in Oregon state law as driving under the influence of intoxicants, more commonly referred to simply as DUI. A DUI crime may be a misdemeanor or felony offense in Oregon, depending on the number of prior convictions the motorist has.
While DUI offenses most frequently involve alcohol, it is important to note that Oregon Revised Statute § 813.010 does establish that a person can be charged with the crime if he or she is under the influence of a controlled substance. Since Oregon was one of the first states in the nation to legalize recreational cannabis, “drugged driving” has become more of an issue in the Beaver State.
If you suffered severe injuries or your loved one was killed by a motorist who was operating under the influence of drugs or alcohol, it is in your best interest to quickly retain legal counsel. Need an Injury Lawyer Oregon represents clients in communities throughout Multnomah County, Lane County, Clackamas County, Deschutes County, Douglas County, Jackson County, Yamhill County, Washington County, Marion County, and many others.
Oregon Drunk and Drugged Driving Laws
A person is typically arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) when he or she has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher.
While other states established limits of five nanograms of active tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in whole blood for marijuana impairment, police officers in Oregon rely on observed impairment in cannabis-related Dull cases.
Oregon Dram Shop Laws
Bars or other establishments where alcohol was served used to be called dram shops. A dram referred to a small unit of alcohol that was about one-eighth of an ounce.
Today, dram shop laws refer the liability of establishments that serve alcohol when a patron then causes an automobile accident. Under Oregon Revised Statute § 471.565, a vendor of alcoholic beverages can be held civilly liable when he, she, or it serves alcohol to a person who is under 21 years of age (a minor) or a person who was visibly intoxicated.
Additionally, Oregon state law further states that a social host—a private individual who is not a licensed vendor of alcoholic beverages—can also be held liable for serving alcohol to a minor if that person under 21 years of age then causes a car accident. Dram shop and social host laws allow additional avenues for drunk driving accident victims to pursue compensation, which can be useful when the person charged with drunk driving may not have the financial resources to pay full and fair compensation.
Find a DUI Accident Attorney in Oregon
Did you sustain serious injuries or was your loved one killed in a crash caused by a drunk or drugged driver in Oregon? Need an Injury Lawyer Oregon can be your legal advocate and fight to hold all negligent parties fully accountable.
You can contact out firm 24/7 to arrange a free, no obligation consultation at which our experienced personal injury attorneys will provide a complete evaluation of your case. We handle every case on a contingency fee basis, meaning that you pay us absolutely nothing if we do not get you a monetary award.